Injured in a Car Accident? Here’s How Long You Have to Report Your Injuries

Every year in the United States, 3 million people are injured in car accidents. Whether you’ve been in an accident before or it’s your first one, auto crashes are always traumatic.

Everyone reacts their own particular way to trauma. While one individual might find it hard to focus after a crash, another might experience an adrenalin rush that, for the moment, delays their injuries.

If you’re injured in a car accident, you won’t necessarily know it right away. Sometimes it takes hours, or even a few days, for a car crash victim to begin to feel intense pain or to grasp what they’ve been through.

Do you want to learn how long you have to report your injuries? Here’s a guide outlining what to remember after your accident.

Does Texas Law Require a Car Accident Report?

Whether you have injuries or not, the law in Texas requires drivers to file a Crash Report after an accident that results in injury, death, or more than $1,000 worth of property damage.

If a police officer investigates and writes a report at the scene of the accident, then you don’t need to file Form CR-2.

How Long Do You Have to Report an Accident?

If no officers are at the crash, it’s the driver’s responsibility to file a report within 10 days of the accident.

When Should You Tell Your Insurance Company?

The car accident claim time limit differs from insurance company to insurance company.

It’s also important to remember that making a claim is different than reporting the accident.

In the event of a crash, it’s vital to check with your insurance provider about their requirements.

Many insurance companies require that you report your incident to them within 24 hours. Plus, some insurance companies require that you make that report to the police within 24 hours as well.

While one insurance provider might allow a 30-day period to report an accident, another might require a report within 3 days. Some, on the other hand, ask that you report it “as soon as it is reasonably possible.”

If you’ve been injured or suffered property damage, the last thing you’d want to do is miss out on compensation because of missed deadlines or failing to report your accident.

When Should You Make a Claim?

If you’re wondering how long after an accident can you file a claim, the answer is, it depends.

As we mentioned above, reporting an accident is much different than making a claim. You should call your insurance company to report the accident as soon as you’ve been checked out medically and gathered the necessary information from the scene.

Making a claim comes after reporting an accident. Not every insurance company has its own deadline for making a claim, but individual states do.

In Texas, you have 2 years to report a claim for bodily injury and 2 years to report a claim for property damage.

Talk to your lawyer about when the best time is to file a claim. Every situation is different. Sometimes it takes months to assess an injury and project necessary medical bills in the future.

You can file a claim while you’re still being treated for an injury, but it’s vital to have a professional injury lawyer to make sure you’re building your case sufficiently and claiming what you deserve.

How Long After an Accident Can You Sue?

In Texas, you have 2 years to sue for injuries or damages sustained in a car accident.

Typically what happens is that your lawyer will file a claim first. Your insurance company or the at-fault driver’s insurance company will make an offer to compensate for the damages you and your property endured, plus potential doctor’s visits in the future.

Some of the compensation damages an accident might result in are:

  • Hospital stays, medical bills, and additional health care expenses
  • Lost wages
  • Loss of ability to earn in the future
  • Pain and suffering
  • Property damage
  • Wrongful death expenses

Most car accident cases settle outside of court. The insurance company will make an offer of compensation, and you and your lawyer can choose whether or not to accept it.

When Would You Sue in Addition to Making a Claim?

If you make a claim for financial recovery to the insurance company but don’t receive the compensation you believe you deserve, you and your lawyer might decide to sue the at-fault driver.

You cannot directly sue the insurance company. However, if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance and doesn’t have enough finances or assets to sue personally, you could make an additional claim against your own policy through your uninsured motorists’ benefits.

While you’re legally allowed to sue the at-fault driver personally, you can’t draw blood from a stone. If they don’t have the finances or assets to pay should you win, it’s probably not worth your efforts.

What Information Do You Need to Make a Claim?

Whether you’re in shock or in a daze, the best thing you can do for yourself in the event of an accident is to make sure you’re ok and gather as much information as you can.

Here are crucial things to remember to do at the scene:

  • Pull over where you’re safe (if possible)
  • Protect the scene and yourself with hazard lights, a flashlight, or whatever you have
  • Call the police
  • Get a copy of the police report
  • If anyone asks if you’re injured, and you can’t tell, say that you aren’t sure
  • Document the scene by taking pictures
  • Exchange information
  • Take down names and numbers of any witnesses
  • Seek medical attention
  • Call your lawyer

If your injuries are severe and noticeable right away, you should seek medical attention before anything else.

If you’re unsure whether or not you’re injured, or if you feel pain, but it’s not severe, you must still seek medical attention.

Even minor impact accidents can cause serious or permanent injuries, like spinal cord injury.

Call a Lawyer If You’re Injured in a Car Accident

If you’ve been injured in a car accident, don’t hesitate to call a lawyer. A FREE case evaluation won’t cost you a penny.

Plus, if you weren’t at fault and sustained injuries or property damage, most professional lawyers will work on contingency, meaning they only get paid if they get you the compensation you deserve.

Have you been in an accident and are unsure of what you should do next? Contact us at any time! We are here to help and offer a FREE Case Evaluation for any accident.

3 Key Benefits of Hiring a Personal Injury Lawyer

Life is a beautiful thing…that is, until something unfortunate comes along in the form of an injury.

No one wants to suffer from a personal injury. Not only is there the initial pain involved, but it also affects your work and family life and can lead to crippling financial damage. The last thing you need is to navigate this field alone.

The good news is that you don’t have to. In times like these, hiring a personal injury lawyer is the best move that you could make. This article goes over a few key benefits why you need a PI lawyer in your court. Read on to find out more!

A Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help Explain Your Rights

There’s so much to know in the world of U.S. law. The problem is that most of those who are not lawyers don’t know any of it – and that can quickly lead to you digging your own grave.

Even those who know the law can find the nuances confusing, so it comes as no surprise that you may be at a complete loss. The problem is that a number of those who have an understanding of the process may try to use it against you.

With an injury lawyer on your side, you know exactly what you’re getting into from start to finish, making you more aware of your situation so you can stay in the know.

They Help You to Build a Case

Have you ever wondered what it takes to build a case? There are multiple steps to building up a case, and each step requires careful navigating throughout the process. Trying to go it alone could quickly result in making an error.

A personal injury lawyer knows every step to take in order to build up the most solid case, so you can secure your win in court.

They Can Handle the Insurance Company for You

When an incident occurs, there will almost always be an insurance company somewhere in the mix. Their goal is to make sure they come on on top by saving money – even if it’s at your expense.

An injury lawyer can help you take care of the insurance company for you. They will talk to them on your behalf and work through any issues and settlements that may come your way, so you can stay one step ahead.

We’ll Take Care of You!

Now that you know the benefits of having  a personal injury lawyer on your side, you need to know where to go to find the right ones who will fight for you. We’re the team that you need for the job.

The Martinez Law Firm is dedicated to making sure you get what you deserve from your personal injury. We’ve been in the law business for many years and work in a number of sectors, including personal injury, criminal law, jail release, wills, and more.

If you’re ever in need of our services, make sure to give us a call. We’re more than happy to help you get the money and happiness you deserve!

5 Things You Should Do After a Workplace Injury

Workplace injuries can happen to anyone, at any moment. When it happens, you should seek legal representation. A workplace injury lawyer will make sure you receive a fair payout, including lost wages, and medical bills.

Did you recently suffer from a workplace injury? There are proper ways to protect your legal rights. Learn how you can get compensation benefits.

1. Report the Injury

It is imperative that employees report a workplace injury to their employer as soon as possible. In most cases, employers and workers’ compensation insurance companies could deny claims. This tends to happen if the injury was not reported properly.

Continue reading “5 Things You Should Do After a Workplace Injury”

Why You Need to Hire an Auto Accident Attorney After a Car Crash

Do you hire an Austin auto accident attorney or take a settlement directly from the insurance company? How long do you have to decide? Could you get more money with the help of a lawyer?

Car accidents caused serious injury to 4.5 million people and caused 40,000 deaths in 2018. No one plans to be part of those statistics, so it’s confusing to know what to do after the accident.

While you can handle the claim yourself, you’ll likely find the process easier and less stressful with an expert in personal injury. Keep reading to understand the benefits of hiring an auto accident lawyer.

Laws Are Complex

When filing an insurance claim for a car accident, you need to follow state laws that govern personal injury accidents. In Texas, you have to file a claim within two years of when the accident happens.

Researching all of the laws that pertain to car accident lawsuits is challenging, especially when you’re dealing with injuries and financial difficulties from the accident. An accident attorney knows the applicable laws already. Your legal team helps you file your claim within the legal guidelines to increase the chances of success.

Continue reading “Why You Need to Hire an Auto Accident Attorney After a Car Crash”